Back to Top

The 2016 Longlist Revealed!

We are proud to announce the longlists for the 2016 SUNBURST AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN CANADIAN LITERATURE OF THE FANTASTIC.

Toronto, Ontario (June 8, 2016): The Sunburst Award Committee is pleased to announce the 2016 longlist for the Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic. This year’s nominees include a hearty mix of well-established authors and talented newcomers, as well as the official introduction of a new Sunburst Award category of Short Stories.

Below are the works longlisted by the jury, with links to books and stories (where possible).


  • Andre Alexis, Fifteen Dogs [Coach House Books]
  • Samuel Archibald, Arvida [Biblioasis]
  • Margaret Atwood, The Heart Goes Last [McClelland & Stewart]
  • Andrew Battershill, Pillow [Coach House Books]
  • Rebecca Bradley, Cadon, Hunter [Loom Publications]
  • Matt Cahill, The Society of Experience [Wolsak & Wynn]
  • Jill Ciment, Act of God [Pantheon]
  • Alain Farah, Ravenscrag [House of Anansi Press] (Translated by Lazer Laderhendler)
  • Katherine Fawcett, The Little Washer of Sorrows [Thistledown Press]
  • Gemma Files, Experimental Film [Chizine Publications]
  • Alexandra Grigorescu, Cauchemar [ECW Press]
  • Lisa L. Hannett, Lament for the Afterlife [Chizine Publications]
  • D. J. McIntosh, The Angel of Eden [Penguin Canada]
  • Jamie McLachlan, Mind of the Phoenix [Penner Publishing]
  • Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Signal to Noise [Solaris]
  • Heather O'Neill, Daydreams of Angels [HarperCollins Canada]
  • Andrew Pyper, The Damned [Simon & Schuster]
  • Simone St. James, The Other Side of Midnight [New American Library]
  • Carsten Stroud, The Reckoning [Penguin Random House]
  • Robert Charles Wilson, The Affinities [Tor]
  • A.C. Wise, The Ultra Fabulous Glitter Squadron Saves the World Again [Lethe Press]


  • Leah Bobet, An Inheritance of Ashes [Scholastic Canada]
  • David Carroll, Sight Unseen [Scholastic Canada]
  • Jason Chabot, Above [HarperTrophy]
  • Charis Cotter, The Swallow: A Ghost Story [Tundra Books]
  • Mikaela Everett, The Unquiet [HarperCollins]
  • Melinda Friesen, Enslavement [Rebelight]
  • Kallie George, Magic Animal Adoption Agency: Clover’s Luck [HarperCollins Canada]
  • Fonda Lee, Zeroboxer [Flux]
  • Kenneth Oppel, The Nest [HarperCollins]
  • Carol Anne Shaw, Hannah and the Wild Woods [Ronsdale Press]
  • Neil Smith, Boo [Knopf]
  • Allan Stratton, The Dogs [Scholastic Canada]
  • Caitlin Sweet, The Flame in the Maze [Chizine Publications]
  • Robert J. Wiersema, Black Feathers [HarperCollins]


  • Karen Abrahamson, “With One Shoe” [Playground of Lost Toys, Exile Editions]
  • Charlotte Ashley, “La Héron” [The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, March/April 2015]
  • Rebecca Campbell, “The Glad Hosts” [Lackington's Magazine, Issue 7]
  • Evelyn Deshane, “Carnival of Colours” [Only Disconnect, Summer 2015, Third Flatiron Publishing]
  • Mike Donoghue, “Stuck in the Past” [Abyss & Apex, Issue 54]
  • David J. Fuller, “The Harsh Light of Morning” [Wrestling With Gods: Tesseracts Eighteen, EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing]
  • Mark Hill, “The Zzzombie Apocalypse” [The Time It Happened, Spring 2015, Third Flatiron Publishing]
  • Patrick Johanneson, “Person to Person” [Daily Science Fiction]
  • Catherine A. MacLeod, “Hide and Seek” [Playground of Lost Toys, Exile Editions]
  • Silvia Moreno-Garcia, “Lacrimosa” [Nightmare Magazine, Issue 38]
  • Dominik Parisien, “Goodbye is a Mouthful of Water” [Playground of Lost Toys, Exile Editions]
  • Dominik Parisien, “Spider Moves the World” [Lackington's Magazine, Issue 6]
  • Kelly Robson, “Two-Year Man” [Asimov's Science Fiction, August 2015]
  • Holly Schofield, “Two Steps Forward” [Scarecrow, World Weaver Press]
  • Peter Wendt, “Get the Message” [Second Contacts, Bundoran Press]

The Sunburst Award official shortlist will be announced on July 5th. Sunburst Award winners will be announced on September 14th.

The jurors for the 2016 award are Timothy Anderson, Sylvie Bérard, Virginia O’Dine, Dale Sproule, and Myna Wallin.

The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is an annual award celebrating the best in Canadian fantastika published during the previous calendar year. Winners receive a cash prize of $1,000 for the Adult and Young Adult categories, and of $500 for the short story category as well as a medallion which incorporates the Sunburst logo.

The Sunburst Award takes its name from the debut novel of the late Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian speculative fiction. Past winners of the Sunburst Award include such notable Canadian authors as Ruth Ozeki, Guy Gavriel Kay, Cory Doctorow, Nalo Hopkinson, Charles de Lint, and last year’s winner Thomas King.

For additional information about the Sunburst Award, the nominees, and the jurors, as well as previous awards, eligibility, and the selection process, please visit the official website at