Back to Top

Jurors for the 2010 Sunburst Award

Photo of Don Bassingthwaite


Don Bassingthwaite is the author of numerous fantasy and dark fantasy novels and short stories based on some of the most successful properties in the role-playing game field, including White Wolf Game Studio's World of Darkness and Wizards of the Coast's Forgotten Realms and Eberron lines. His most recent novel is Word of Traitors, book one of the Legacy of Dhakaan trilogy. In addition to writing, Don has worked for many years as a professional in Canadian and international publishing. Born in Meaford, Ontario, Don lives in Toronto, surrounded by gadgets, spice jars, and too many books.


Photo of Gemma Files


Born in England and raised in Toronto, Canada, Gemma Files has been a film critic, teacher and screenwriter, and is currently a wife and mother. She won the 1999 International Horror Guild Best Short Fiction award for her story "The Emperor’s Old Bones" and the 2006 ChiZine/Leisure Books Short Story Contest for her story "Spectral Evidence." Her fiction has been published in two collections (Kissing Carrion and The Worm in Every Heart, both from Prime Books), and five of her stories were adapted into episodes of The Hunger, an anthology TV show produced by Ridley and Tony Scott's Scot Free Productions. She has also published two chapbooks of poetry. In 2009, her short story "Marya Nox" appeared in Lovecraft Unbound, edited by Ellen Datlow, while her story "each thing I show you is a piece of my death" (co-written with Stephen J. Barringer) featured in Clockwork Phoenix 2 from Norilana Books. Her first novel, A Book of Tongues, will be published by ChiZine Publications in early 2010.

Photo of Susie Moloney


Winnipeg, Manitoba native Susie Moloney is the author of three mystery/horror novels: A Dry Spell (1997), Bastion Falls (1999) and The Dwelling (2003). She is adapting The Dwelling as a feature film, and has a new book (currently untitled) coming out from Random House in 2010. She makes her home in Manitoba.


Photo of Ursula Pflug


Ursula Pflug is author of the novel Green Music (Tesseract Books, 2002) and the story collection After the Fires (Tightrope Books, 2008). An award-winning writer of short fiction, she has published over 50 stories in Canada, the US and the UK, in literary and speculative publications. She was a contributing editor at the Peterborough Review for several years, and is on the board of The Cooked and Eaten Reading Series in Peterborough. She is also a professionally produced playwright and occasional freelance editor. She teaches short fiction writing at Loyalist College and reviews books for The Peterborough Examiner, the New York Review of Science Fiction, The Internet Review of Science Fiction, and other publications. She lives on the Ouse River outside of Peterborough, Ontario.


Photo of Ed Willett


Edward Willett was born in New Mexico and moved to Weyburn, Saskatchewan with his family when he was eight. He studied journalism at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas, and then returned to Weyburn as a reporter/photographer for the weekly Weyburn Review, eventually becoming news editor. In 1988 he moved to Regina as communications officer for the Saskatchewan Science Centre, and in 1993 he became a full-time freelance writer. He's the author or co-author of more than 40 books, among them computer books, children's non-fiction works and science fiction and fantasy for adults and young adults. He writes a weekly online science column and is also a professional actor and singer. His most recent SF novels include the two-book series Marseguro (2008), which was a finalist for the 2009 Aurora Award, and Terra Insegura (2009). Other titles include the YA biographies J.R.R. Tolkien: Master of Imaginary Worlds (2004) and Orson Scott Card: Architect of Alternate Worlds (2006). An adult fantasy novel, Magebane, written under the pseudonym Lee Arthur Chane, is forthcoming in 2010. Edward Willett lives in Regina.