Back to Top


The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award to recognize stellar writing in two categories: adult and young adult. The awards are presented annually to Canadian writers with a speculative fiction novel or book-length collection of speculative fiction published any time during the previous calendar year. Named after the first novel by Phyllis Gotlieb (1926–2009), one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian science fiction, the awards consist of a cash award of Cdn$1,000 and a medallion which incorporates a specially designed "Sunburst" logo. The winners receive their awards in the fall of every year.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA: The Sunburst Award Society Administration Committee and its researchers maintain annual reference lists of Canadian literature of the fantastic. We recommend that writers and publishers check the list to ascertain that their work(s) are on the list. If not, please contact info [AT] sunburstaward [DOT] org .

  • The work must be literature of the fantastic, which includes science fiction, fantasy, horror, magic realism, and surrealism.
  • The work must be a novel or novel-length short story collection.
  • The author must be Canadian—that is, a Canadian Citizen (native or naturalized; resident in Canada or residing outside Canada) or Landed Immigrant in Canada.
  • Translations into English are considered on an equal footing with works written originally in English. Only the first translation of a work is eligible.
  • The work must be substantially text-based and have been published in book form.
  • If a work is published or released after December 31 in a calendar year, regardless of stated copyright or publication dates, it may be considered the following year. If an eligible book was not considered by the jury in the year in which it was published, it may be considered the following year. However, once a book has been considered, it becomes ineligible.

TO SUBMIT: For the 2014 award (for books published in 2013), mail six (6) copies of the book before January 31, 2014 to the committee secretary at the address below, along with payment by cheque or PayPal (credit cards are accepted at PayPal for those who do not have or want a PayPal account). Packages from outside Canada must be marked PROMOTIONAL MATERIALS, as the Sunburst Award Society cannot pay for customs and clearance.


1 title $20.00 CAD2 titles $40.00 CAD3 titles $60.00 CAD4 titles $80.00 CAD5 titles $100.00 CAD6 titles $120.00 CAD7 titles $140.00 CAD8 titles $160.00 CAD9 titles $180.00 CAD10 titles $200.00 CAD

N.B. If unable to remit submission fees in Canadian funds or use the PayPal link above, please contact the Secretary below to make alternate arrangements.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Contact or write to The Sunburst Award Society, 2 Farm Greenway, Toronto, ON M3A 3M2 Canada


2018 Sunburst Award Shortlists


TORONTO, ONTARIO (July 30, 2018) The Sunburst Award Committee is pleased to announce the shortlists for the 2018 Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic.



2018 Sunburst Award Longlist!

We are proud to announce the longlists for the 2018 SUNBURST AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN CANADIAN LITERATURE OF THE FANTASTIC.

TORONTO, ONTARIO (June 1, 2018): The Sunburst Award Committee is pleased to announce the 2018 longlist for the Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic. This year’s lists are comprised of a mixture of established authors, talented newcomers, and several past nominees. Below are the longlisted works, with links where available:

Adult Fiction

2018 Sunburst Awards Call for Submissions

Attention Publishers and Authors! 

Submissions of 2017 works for the 2018 award are now being accepted. 

The Sunburst Awards Society brings together every year a varying panel of distinguished jurors to select the best full length work of literature of the fantastic written by a Canadian in both Adult and Young Adult categories. 2018 is also the third year for our short fiction award, for the best short fiction written by a Canadian.


Subscribe to The Sunburst Award Society RSS